New Faculty Advisory Council

The mission of the New Faculty Advisory Council, or NFAC, is to facilitate the integration of new engineering faculty into ASU by fostering a culture of collaboration and community. We aim to welcome new faculty and provide opportunities for professional development.

New Faculty Advisory Council

The mission of the New Faculty Advisory Council, or NFAC, is to facilitate the integration of new engineering faculty into ASU by fostering a culture of collaboration and community. We aim to welcome new faculty and provide opportunities for professional development.

Welcome to ASU!

Here you will find resources to get you started and support your success in teaching, research, and service!

Get started.

New faculty checklist highlights

The Provost’s New Faculty Website provides a great starting point for joining ASU.

Here’s a quick checklist of things to make sure you do:

Promote your research

Promote yourself, your research and your achievements through ASU Engineering Communications.

Review important ASU policies

ASU IT policies and information security

– Policies on travel, driving, etc.

ASU Brand Guide (including web standards)

Media Requests

Teaching resources

Service resources

Service at ASU includes K-12 outreach and recruitment activities, sponsoring student organizations, or serving on committees for the school or department. Here are some resources to help you get involved!

Become Barrett Honors Faculty (mentor Honors Undergraduate Students)

Outreach

Student organizations
Mentor a student org or sponsor a new one. The Fulton Schools has over 60 student organizations.

Serve on a committee

  • List of Committees
  • Department Personnel Committees (Talk to your school director if you’re interested!)

Slack logoJoin us on Slack

Connect with new faculty in our Slack workspace!  Email Kerry Hamilton to receive an invite.

Council members

ASA
Ryan Meuth(Ryan.Meuth@asu.edu)
Kristen M. Ward (Kristen.M.Ward@asu.edu)

CIDSE
Tiffany Bao (tbao@asu.edu)
Mohamed Sarwata (msarwat@asu.edu)

ECEE
Anamitra Pal (Anamitra.Pal@asu.edu)
Yang Weng (Yang.Weng@asu.edu)

SBHSE
Jessica Weaver (jdweave5@asu.edu)
Sydney Schaefer (Sydney.Schaefer@asu.edu)

SEMTE
Mohamed Kashaoui (Houssem.Kasbaoui@asu.edu)
Abhinav Acharya (apachary@asu.edu)

SSEBE
Kerry Hamilton (Kerry.Hamilton@asu.edu)
Tianfang Xu (Tianfang.Xu@asu.edu)

TPS
Asmaa Elbadrawy (Asmaa.Elbadrawy@asu.edu)
Robert Gutzwiller (Robert.Gutzwiller@asu.edu)